Short answer: buy the MSI Modern 14 if you want the most laptop under ₹45,000, with 16GB of RAM. Buy the Acer TravelLite 2026 if you can spend ₹58,490 and want 16GB and a three year warranty. Buy the Acer TravelLite 14 if you want 16GB and Office included under ₹50,000.
Geekman has covered consumer tech for over 10 years, and this ranking is built the way our buying guides always are: research first, then a hard look at the numbers. For every model we compared official specs, RAM and upgrade options, screen, software included, price, warranty and service reach, and checked live prices on Amazon and Flipkart.
What changed in 2026
What ₹50,000 buys a student in 2026
Prices went up this year. A budget that used to get you a Ryzen 5 and 16GB now gets you a Ryzen 3 and 8GB, and I could not find a single Ryzen 5 with 16GB under ₹50,000 on Amazon. So I did two things. I picked six laptops under ₹50,000, and one stretch pick just above it that I think is worth the extra money.

That image shows the four traps I kept running into. Cheap listings can ship without Windows, some have soldered RAM, many screens are dim, and lists you read online go out of date fast.
The ranking
How I ranked these laptops for students
Each laptop gets a score out of 10 for performance (40%), value (40%) and service (20%). Performance is weighted toward the processor cores, RAM, storage and screen. Value is price against what you get, including Office and upgrade options. Service looks at warranty and how easy it is to get help.
See the scores
| # | Laptop | Perf. | Value | Service | Overall |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | MSI Modern 14 (Core i5-1235U, 16GB, 512GB) | 8.2 | 9.4 | 7.0 | 8.4 |
| 2 | Acer TravelLite 2026 (Ryzen 5 7430U, 16GB, 512GB) | 8.4 | 6.8 | 9.0 | 7.9 |
| 3 | Acer Aspire Lite Metal (Ryzen 3 7330U, 8GB, 512GB) | 6.8 | 8.4 | 7.0 | 7.5 |
| 4 | Acer TravelLite 14 (Ryzen 3 5400U, 16GB, 512GB) | 6.6 | 7.8 | 7.0 | 7.2 |
| 5 | HP 15 2026 (Ryzen 3 7335U, 8GB DDR5, 512GB) | 6.6 | 7.2 | 7.5 | 7.0 |
| 6 | Dell Pro 15 (Ryzen 5 7520U, 8GB DDR5, 512GB) | 6.8 | 6.6 | 8.0 | 7.0 |
| 7 | Lenovo IdeaPad Slim 3 (Ryzen 3, 8GB, 512GB, Office 2024) | 6.4 | 6.6 | 8.4 | 6.9 |
Scores weigh performance 40%, value 40% and service 20%. They come from official specs, listing details and live prices on 22 October 2026.
Quick picks
| Pick | Laptop | Best for |
|---|---|---|
| Best Overall | MSI Modern 14 (Core i5-1235U, 16GB, 512GB) | The most laptop under ₹45,000: Core i5, 16GB RAM and 1.4 kg |
| Best Warranty | Acer TravelLite 2026 (Ryzen 5 7430U, 16GB, 512GB) | A 16GB laptop with a three year warranty, if you can stretch past ₹50,000 |
| Best Big Screen | Acer Aspire Lite Metal (Ryzen 3 7330U, 8GB, 512GB) | A 15.6 inch IPS screen, a metal body and RAM you can upgrade |
| Best With Office | Acer TravelLite 14 (Ryzen 3 5400U, 16GB, 512GB) | 16GB of RAM with Office Home and Student 2021 included, under ₹50,000 |
| Best Value Windows 11 Pro | HP 15 2026 (Ryzen 3 7335U, 8GB DDR5, 512GB) | DDR5 RAM that goes up to 32GB, with Windows 11 Pro for ₹46,440 |
| Best Dell Service | Dell Pro 15 (Ryzen 5 7520U, 8GB DDR5, 512GB) | A Dell with a 120Hz screen, a Ryzen 5 and Windows 11 Pro |
| Best Lenovo Service | Lenovo IdeaPad Slim 3 (Ryzen 3, 8GB, 512GB, Office 2024) | Office 2024 included and Lenovo service, but the RAM is fixed at 8GB |
Tap a name to jump to its review. Live prices are in the buy box under each review. Prices are as seen on 22 October 2026 and bank offers can change them.
The reviews
Best laptops for students in India: 7 picks
Best Overall
1. MSI Modern 14 (Core i5-1235U, 16GB, 512GB)
8.4 Overall
8.2 Performance
9.4 Value
7.0 Service
Core i5-1235U, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 14 inch Full HD screen and a backlit keyboard at 1.4 kg for ₹42,990.

Core i5-1235U · 16GB RAM · 512GB SSD · Backlit keyboard · 1.4 kg
Best for
✓ Students who carry the laptop every day
✓ Engineering and coding students on a budget
✓ Anyone who wants 16GB under ₹45,000
Not ideal for
– People who need Office included
– Anyone who wants the newest chip generation
Verdict: The best mix of RAM, speed and weight under ₹45,000.
MSI Modern 14 Intel Core i5 12th Gen 1235U (16 GB/512 GB SSD/Windows 11 Home)
Up to 5% off with HDFC, Flipkart Axis & Flipkart SBI cards Details
- Up to 5% off with HDFC, Flipkart Axis & Flipkart SBI cards
Pros and cons
What we like
+ 16GB RAM at ₹42,990
+ 10 core Core i5, backlit keyboard
+ 1.4 kg, 14 inch Full HD
What we don’t like
– 12th generation chip
– No Office
– One year warranty
Full review
I would put my own money here. For ₹42,990 you get a Core i5 with 16GB of RAM, a backlit keyboard and a 1.4 kg body. Every other laptop in this price band gives you 8GB.
For college work. The Core i5-1235U is a 12th generation chip with 10 cores and 12 threads, which is plenty for a pile of browser tabs, a video call and a document open together. The listing shows 16GB of DDR4 RAM and a 512GB SSD. The screen is a 14 inch Full HD panel.
Carrying it around. It weighs 1.4 kg and the listing shows a 3 cell battery and a backlit keyboard.
The name trap. MSI sells the Modern 14 with different chips under almost the same name. A Ryzen 5 7530U version with 8GB of RAM sits at ₹42,799 on Flipkart, which is a different laptop. Check the processor and RAM in the title before you pay.
The catch. The chip is a generation or two old, Office is not included and the warranty is one year onsite. The listing does not say whether the RAM can be upgraded. Flipkart sells it and I found no Amazon listing.
Price. Flipkart lists it at ₹42,990 on 22 October 2026.
MSI Modern 14 (Core i5-1235U, 16GB, 512GB) vs the competition. It costs ₹2,000 less than the Aspire Lite Metal and has twice the RAM and a faster chip, but a smaller screen.
Key specs
| CPU | Intel Core i5-1235U, 12th gen, 10 cores, 12 threads |
| Memory | 16GB DDR4, upgrade not stated on the listing |
| Display | 14 inch Full HD (1920×1080) |
| Storage | 512GB SSD |
| OS | Windows 11 Home, no Office |
| Weight and battery | About 1.4 kg, 3 cell battery |
| Warranty | 1 year onsite |
Best Warranty
2. Acer TravelLite 2026 (Ryzen 5 7430U, 16GB, 512GB)
7.9 Overall
8.4 Performance
6.8 Value
9.0 Service
Ryzen 5 7430U with 6 cores, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 1.34 kg and a 3 year warranty for ₹58,490.

Ryzen 5 7430U · 16GB RAM · 512GB SSD · 1.34 kg · 3 year warranty
Best for
✓ Students who want one laptop for four years
✓ Coding and design students
✓ Parents who care about warranty
Not ideal for
– Anyone with a hard ₹50,000 limit
Verdict: The one to buy if you can go past ₹50,000. It is the only pick here with 16GB and a three year warranty.
Acer 3 Years Warranty TravelLite (2026) AMD Ryzen 5 Hexa Core 7430U (16 GB/512 GB SSD/Windows 11 Home)
Up to 5% off with HDFC, Flipkart Axis & Flipkart SBI cards Details
- Up to 5% off with HDFC, Flipkart Axis & Flipkart SBI cards
Pros and cons
What we like
+ 16GB RAM, expandable to 32GB per Flipkart
+ 3 year warranty on the listing
+ 1.34 kg
What we don’t like
– ₹58,490, above the ₹50,000 line
– Flipkart only
– Check the exact variant
Full review
This one breaks the ₹50,000 rule, and I am telling you up front. I included it because 16GB of RAM, six cores and a three year warranty together are rare at this price.
For college work. The Ryzen 5 7430U has 6 cores. The listing shows 16GB of RAM and a 512GB SSD, and Flipkart lists the memory as expandable up to 32GB.
Carrying it around. It weighs 1.34 kg, the lightest laptop in this guide, and the listing shows a 3 cell battery.
Warranty. The listing title says 3 Years Warranty. Most laptops here list one year, so this is the biggest difference for a student who plans to use the laptop through a whole degree.
Price. Flipkart lists it at ₹58,490 on 22 October 2026.
Acer TravelLite 2026 (Ryzen 5 7430U, 16GB, 512GB) vs the competition. It costs ₹15,500 more than the MSI Modern 14 and gives you a newer 6 core Ryzen 5 and two more years of warranty at the same 16GB.
Key specs
| CPU | AMD Ryzen 5 7430U, 6 cores |
| Memory | 16GB, expandable up to 32GB per listing |
| Display | 14 inch Full HD |
| Storage | 512GB SSD |
| Weight and battery | About 1.34 kg, 3 cell battery |
| Warranty | 3 years per the listing title |
Best Big Screen
3. Acer Aspire Lite Metal (Ryzen 3 7330U, 8GB, 512GB)
7.5 Overall
6.8 Performance
8.4 Value
7.0 Service
Ryzen 3 7330U, 15.6 inch Full HD IPS screen, backlit keyboard, RAM upgradable to 32GB for ₹44,990.

Ryzen 3 7330U · 15.6 inch IPS · 8GB, up to 32GB · 512GB SSD · 1.65 kg
Best for
✓ Students who want a big screen
✓ Anyone who plans to add RAM later
✓ People who type a lot
Not ideal for
– Anyone who needs Office included
– Students who walk a lot
Verdict: The best big screen laptop here, and one of the few where upgrading RAM is clearly allowed.

Acer Aspire Lite Metal,AMD Ryzen 3 7330U, 8 GB DDR4 RAM/512 GB SSD, 15.6" FHD IPS Display, Win 11Home, Steel Grey, 1.65 Kg, AL15-42, Backlit Keyboard, Thin & Light Laptop
Bank discount on select credit cards + cashback on Amazon Pay ICICI card +1
- Bank discount on select credit cards + cashback on Amazon Pay ICICI card
- No Cost EMI on select cards
Pros and cons
What we like
+ RAM upgradable to 32GB per listing
+ 15.6 inch Full HD IPS, backlit keyboard
+ Metal body
What we don’t like
– 4 core chip
– 1.65 kg
– No Office
Full review
If you like a big screen and a proper keyboard, this is the one. It has a metal body, a backlit keyboard and the Amazon listing says the RAM can go up to 32GB.
For college work. The Ryzen 3 7330U has 4 cores. The screen is a 15.6 inch Full HD IPS panel. The listing shows 8GB of DDR4 RAM, upgradable to 32GB, and a 512GB SSD.
Carrying it around. It weighs 1.65 kg, so it is a laptop for a desk and a bag, not for a long walk.
The catch. It comes with Windows 11 Home and no Office. The listing says preinstalled software: none.
Price. Amazon lists it at ₹44,990 on 22 October 2026. Flipkart showed a similar Aspire Lite at ₹47,964.
Acer Aspire Lite Metal (Ryzen 3 7330U, 8GB, 512GB) vs the competition. It costs ₹2,000 more than the MSI Modern 14 and has a bigger screen and upgradable RAM, but a slower processor.
Key specs
| CPU | AMD Ryzen 3 7330U, 4 cores |
| Memory | 8GB DDR4, upgradable to 32GB |
| Display | 15.6 inch IPS, Full HD |
| Storage | 512GB PCIe Gen 3 SSD |
| OS | Windows 11 Home, no Office |
| Weight | About 1.65 kg |
Best With Office
4. Acer TravelLite 14 (Ryzen 3 5400U, 16GB, 512GB)
7.2 Overall
6.6 Performance
7.8 Value
7.0 Service
Ryzen 3 5400U, 16GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 14 inch Full HD, Windows 11 and Office Home and Student 2021 for ₹49,400.

Ryzen 3 5400U · 16GB RAM · 512GB SSD · 14 inch FHD · Office included
Best for
✓ Students who multitask a lot
✓ Anyone who wants Office out of the box
✓ Commerce and arts students
Not ideal for
– Engineering students with heavy software
– Anyone who wants a faster chip
Verdict: The one for people who want 16GB and Office ready on day one. The chip is entry level, so I would not push it hard.

Acer TravelLite TL04-41M 14.0" FHD Laptop, AMD Ryzen 3 5400U, 16GB RAM
Bank discount on select credit cards + cashback on Amazon Pay ICICI card +1
- Bank discount on select credit cards + cashback on Amazon Pay ICICI card
- No Cost EMI on select cards
Pros and cons
What we like
+ 16GB RAM under ₹50,000
+ Office Home and Student 2021 included
+ 14 inch Full HD
What we don’t like
– Entry level Ryzen 3 chip
– Upgrade not stated
– Just under the limit
Full review
Only a handful of laptops have 16GB under ₹50,000. This is the one that also ships with Office, so you can open Word on day one.
For college work. The Ryzen 3 5400U is an entry level chip with 4 cores, in the same class as the 7330U. The 16GB of RAM is the point, because browser tabs and apps stay open instead of reloading. The screen is a 14 inch Full HD anti glare panel and storage is 512GB.
Software. It ships with Windows 11 Home and Microsoft Office Home and Student 2021, per the listing. Word, Excel and PowerPoint are ready on day one.
The catch. The listing does not say if the RAM is upgradable. The chip is entry level, so expect no speed gain over the Aspire Lite Metal.
Price. Amazon lists it at ₹49,400 on 22 October 2026.
Acer TravelLite 14 (Ryzen 3 5400U, 16GB, 512GB) vs the competition. It costs ₹4,400 more than the Aspire Lite Metal and has twice the RAM and Office, but a similar entry level chip.
Key specs
| CPU | AMD Ryzen 3 5400U, 4 cores |
| Memory | 16GB, upgrade not stated |
| Display | 14 inch Full HD, anti glare |
| Storage | 512GB SSD |
| OS | Windows 11 Home with Office Home and Student 2021 |
Best Value Windows 11 Pro
5. HP 15 2026 (Ryzen 3 7335U, 8GB DDR5, 512GB)
7.0 Overall
6.6 Performance
7.2 Value
7.5 Service
Ryzen 3 7335U, 8GB DDR5 expandable to 32GB, 512GB SSD, Windows 11 Pro and a webcam shutter for ₹46,440.

Ryzen 3 7335U · 8GB DDR5 · Up to 32GB · Windows 11 Pro · Webcam shutter
Best for
✓ Students who want to upgrade RAM later
✓ Anyone who values HP service
✓ Light office and study use
Not ideal for
– Anyone who works outdoors
– People who need Office included
Verdict: A decent all rounder. Buy the Windows version, not the cheaper DOS one.

HP 15 (2026), AMD Ryzen 3 Quad Core 7335U - (8 GB DDR5/512 GB SSD/AMD Radeon 660M Graphics/Windows 11 Pro) Thin and Light Business Laptop/15.6" FHD/Fingerprint/Silver/Copilot Key/1.5 Kg/MSO 2024
Bank discount on select credit cards + cashback on Amazon Pay ICICI card +1
- Bank discount on select credit cards + cashback on Amazon Pay ICICI card
- No Cost EMI on select cards
Pros and cons
What we like
+ DDR5 RAM, up to 32GB per listing
+ Windows 11 Pro
+ Webcam privacy shutter
What we don’t like
– 250 nits, 45% NTSC screen
– 4 core chip
– No Office
Full review
HP sells this laptop in two flavours that look the same in a search. One comes with Windows and one comes with DOS, which means no Windows at all. I picked the Windows one.
For college work. The Ryzen 3 7335U has 4 cores and 8 threads. RAM is 8GB of DDR5 and the Amazon listing says it expands up to 32GB. Storage is 512GB and the camera is a 720p one with a privacy shutter. The battery is a 41 Wh unit.
The screen. HP lists the screen as 250 nits and 45% NTSC. That is a dim, washed out panel. It is fine in a classroom, and you will notice it in a bright room or outdoors.
The DOS trap. A sister listing at ₹45,300 says DOS and Windows not installed. The Windows 11 Pro listing is ₹46,440 on 22 October 2026, so the Windows version costs about ₹1,100 more.
Price. Amazon lists the Windows version at ₹46,440 on 22 October 2026.
HP 15 2026 (Ryzen 3 7335U, 8GB DDR5, 512GB) vs the competition. It costs about ₹3,400 less than the Dell Pro 15 and has similar parts, but the Dell has a 120Hz screen and a Ryzen 5.
Key specs
| CPU | AMD Ryzen 3 7335U, 4 cores, 8 threads |
| Memory | 8GB DDR5, up to 32GB per listing |
| Display | 15.6 inch Full HD, 250 nits, 45% NTSC |
| Storage | 512GB PCIe NVMe SSD |
| OS | Windows 11 Pro |
| Battery | 41 Wh |
Best Dell Service
6. Dell Pro 15 (Ryzen 5 7520U, 8GB DDR5, 512GB)
7.0 Overall
6.8 Performance
6.6 Value
8.0 Service
Ryzen 5 7520U, 8GB DDR5, 512GB SSD, 15.6 inch 120Hz Full HD screen and Windows 11 Pro for ₹49,860.

Ryzen 5 7520U · 8GB DDR5 · 120Hz screen · 512GB SSD · Windows 11 Pro
Best for
✓ Students who like Dell service
✓ Smoother scrolling and typing
✓ People who may sell it later
Not ideal for
– Anyone on a tight budget
– Outdoor use
Verdict: Fine if you trust Dell service. The same money buys more laptop elsewhere in this guide.

DELL PRO 15 (2025) AMD Ryzen 5 7520U Quad Core - (8 GB DDR5/512 GB SSD/AMD Radeon 610M Graphics/Windows 11 Pro)
Bank discount on select credit cards + cashback on Amazon Pay ICICI card +1
- Bank discount on select credit cards + cashback on Amazon Pay ICICI card
- No Cost EMI on select cards
Pros and cons
What we like
+ 120Hz Full HD screen
+ Windows 11 Pro
+ Dell service network
What we don’t like
– 4 core chip for ₹49,860
– 250 nits, 45% NTSC
– RAM upgrade not stated
Full review
Dell is the brand many families trust for service, and the Pro 15 comes in just under ₹50,000. It is a solid, plain laptop and it is not the best value here.
For college work. The Ryzen 5 7520U has 4 cores and 8 threads. RAM is 8GB of DDR5 and the SSD is 512GB, expandable to 1TB. The screen is a 15.6 inch Full HD panel at 120Hz.
The screen. Dell lists 250 nits and 45% NTSC, the same dim spec as the HP. The 120Hz refresh helps scrolling feel smooth.
The catch. The listing does not say whether RAM is upgradable. The MSI Modern 14 has a 10 core chip and 16GB for about ₹6,900 less.
Price. Amazon lists it at ₹49,860 on 22 October 2026.
Dell Pro 15 (Ryzen 5 7520U, 8GB DDR5, 512GB) vs the competition. It costs about ₹6,900 more than the MSI Modern 14 and has half the RAM, but it has a 120Hz screen and Dell service.
Key specs
| CPU | AMD Ryzen 5 7520U, 4 cores, 8 threads |
| Memory | 8GB DDR5 5500MHz, upgrade not stated |
| Display | 15.6 inch Full HD, 120Hz, 250 nits, 45% NTSC |
| Storage | 512GB SSD, expandable to 1TB |
| OS | Windows 11 Pro |
Best Lenovo Service
7. Lenovo IdeaPad Slim 3 (Ryzen 3, 8GB, 512GB, Office 2024)
6.9 Overall
6.4 Performance
6.6 Value
8.4 Service
Ryzen 3, 8GB LPDDR5 soldered, 512GB SSD, Windows 11 and Office 2024 for ₹49,990.

Ryzen 3 (4C/8T) · 8GB soldered · 512GB SSD · Office 2024 · 1.62 kg
Best for
✓ Students who want Office included
✓ Light study and browsing
✓ Buyers who prefer Lenovo service
Not ideal for
– Anyone who may need more than 8GB
– Keyboard backlight lovers
Verdict: Good for light use today. The soldered 8GB means it cannot grow with you.

Lenovo IdeaPad Slim 3, Ryzen 3 30, 8GB RAM, 512GB SSD, FHD Thin and Light Laptop, 15.6" (39.6cm), Windows 11, Office 2024, Grey, 1.6Kg, 82XQ01VYIN, AMD Radeon 610M Graphics, Laptop
Great Indian Festival Bank discount on select credit cards + cashback on Amazon Pay ICICI card +1
- Bank discount on select credit cards + cashback on Amazon Pay ICICI card
- No Cost EMI on select cards
Pros and cons
What we like
+ Office Home 2024 included
+ Lenovo service network
+ TUV low blue light screen
What we don’t like
– 8GB soldered, maximum 8GB
– Not backlit
– Costs the most of the six under ₹50,000
Full review
This is the laptop most shops push first. It comes with Office 2024 and Lenovo has a wide service network. The one thing I would check twice is the RAM.
For college work. The processor is a Ryzen 3 with 4 cores and 8 threads. The screen is 15.6 inch Full HD with 250 nits and TUV low blue light certification. Storage is 512GB and it ships with Windows 11 Home and Office Home 2024.
The RAM catch. Lenovo lists the memory as 8GB soldered LPDDR5 with a maximum of 8GB. You cannot add RAM later, so what you buy is what you keep.
Carrying it around. It weighs 1.62 kg and the keyboard is not backlit.
Price. Amazon lists it at ₹49,990 on 22 October 2026.
Lenovo IdeaPad Slim 3 (Ryzen 3, 8GB, 512GB, Office 2024) vs the competition. It costs ₹7,000 more than the MSI Modern 14 and has Office and soldered RAM, while the MSI has 16GB and a 10 core chip.
Key specs
| CPU | AMD Ryzen 3, 4 cores, 8 threads |
| Memory | 8GB LPDDR5 5500, soldered, maximum 8GB |
| Display | 15.6 inch Full HD, 250 nits, anti glare |
| Storage | 512GB SSD, up to 1TB M.2 2242 |
| OS | Windows 11 Home with Office Home 2024 |
| Weight | About 1.62 kg |
Questions other guides skip
The questions most student laptop guides leave out
These are the questions students and parents keep asking, and the lists I read rarely answer them. I checked each against the listings and the makers’ pages on 22 October 2026.

1 · Can I upgrade the RAM later?
It depends on the model. The Acer Aspire Lite Metal lists upgradable to 32GB, and the HP 15 Windows listing and the Acer TravelLite 2026 list up to 32GB. The Lenovo IdeaPad Slim 3 lists 8GB soldered with a maximum of 8GB, so it is stuck. The Dell, MSI and TravelLite 14 listings say nothing, so ask the seller or check the maker’s page.
2 · Is 8GB enough for college?
For documents, browsing, video calls and light coding, yes. Windows 11 needs 4GB at minimum, and 8GB leaves room for a handful of apps. My rule of thumb, not a maker’s figure, is that design, heavy programming tools or many open tabs call for 16GB. The MSI Modern 14, the Acer TravelLite 14 and the TravelLite 2026 have it here.
3 · Why does a cheap HP 15 come without Windows?
Some HP 15 listings are sold with DOS, which means no Windows is installed. One Amazon listing at ₹45,300 says exactly that, while the Windows 11 Pro version costs ₹46,440. You save little and then have to install Windows yourself. Always read the OS line.
4 · Is the screen good enough?
The HP 15 and Dell Pro 15 both list 250 nits and 45% NTSC. That is a dim panel with muted colours. It works in a classroom, and it is poor outdoors or for photo work. The Lenovo lists 250 nits too, with TUV low blue light certification.
5 · Is Microsoft Office included?
Only on some. The Lenovo IdeaPad Slim 3 lists Office Home 2024 and the Acer TravelLite 14 lists Office Home and Student 2021. The Acer Aspire Lite Metal lists no preinstalled software. Many colleges give students free Office through a college email, so check that before paying for it.
6 · Are the laptops in other 50k lists still available?
Often not. Two laptops that a September round up of ₹50,000 picks featured, an Acer Ryzen 7 7730U model and a Samsung Galaxy Book4 with a Core i5 and 16GB, now cost ₹63,500 and ₹67,998 on Amazon and show as unavailable. A list is only useful if you can still buy what it recommends, so check the buy box.
7 · Same laptop name, different chip: how do I avoid the wrong one?
MSI sells the Modern 14 with an Intel Core i5-1235U and 16GB at ₹42,990 and with a Ryzen 5 7530U and 8GB at ₹42,799, both on Flipkart. The names look almost the same. Read the processor and RAM in the title, and do not trust the photos or the model line alone.
8 · Which one has the best warranty?
The Acer TravelLite 2026 lists a 3 year warranty in its title. The MSI Modern 14 lists 1 year onsite. Most of the others list one year. Keep the invoice and register the laptop on day one.
What this means for your buying decision
You carry it every day: the MSI Modern 14 at 1.4 kg, or the Acer TravelLite 2026 at 1.34 kg.
You want a big screen and a number pad: the Acer Aspire Lite Metal.
You want 16GB under ₹50,000: the MSI Modern 14, or the Acer TravelLite 14 if you want Office too.
You want Office included: the Lenovo IdeaPad Slim 3 or the Acer TravelLite 14.
You trust Dell or HP service: the Dell Pro 15 or the HP 15 with Windows 11 Pro.
You want one laptop for four years: stretch to the Acer TravelLite 2026 for 16GB and a three year warranty.
You study engineering or design: take 16GB, and read my laptops for video editing guide if you need a stronger screen.
Compare all 7 laptops at a glance
| Laptop | CPU | RAM | Screen | Software | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MSI Modern 14 | Core i5-1235U, 10 cores | 16GB, upgrade not stated | 14 inch FHD | Windows 11 Home | ₹42,990 |
| Acer TravelLite 2026 | Ryzen 5 7430U, 6 cores | 16GB, up to 32GB | 14 inch FHD | Windows, 3 year warranty | ₹58,490 |
| Acer Aspire Lite Metal | Ryzen 3 7330U, 4 cores | 8GB, up to 32GB | 15.6 inch IPS FHD | Windows 11 Home | ₹44,990 |
| Acer TravelLite 14 | Ryzen 3 5400U, 4 cores | 16GB, upgrade not stated | 14 inch FHD | Windows 11, Office 2021 | ₹49,400 |
| HP 15 2026 | Ryzen 3 7335U, 4 cores | 8GB DDR5, up to 32GB | 15.6 inch FHD, 250 nits | Windows 11 Pro | ₹46,440 |
| Dell Pro 15 | Ryzen 5 7520U, 4 cores | 8GB DDR5, upgrade not stated | 15.6 inch FHD, 120Hz | Windows 11 Pro | ₹49,860 |
| Lenovo IdeaPad Slim 3 | Ryzen 3, 4 cores | 8GB soldered | 15.6 inch FHD, 250 nits | Windows 11, Office 2024 | ₹49,990 |
Specs are from the Amazon.in and Flipkart listings and maker pages in October 2026. Prices were seen on 22 October 2026 and move daily. Verify the exact variant before you buy.
The buying guide
How to choose a laptop for college
🧠
Processor
Core i5 or Ryzen 5 over entry chips.
🧩
RAM
8GB is the floor. 16GB is safer.
🪟
Windows
Read the OS line. Avoid DOS.
🛡️
Warranty
Check the years and the service reach.
1 · Processor: cores matter more than the name
A Core i5 or Ryzen 5 with 6 or more cores handles tabs, calls and apps better than a Ryzen 3 with 4 cores. Treat Celeron and Athlon laptops as a last resort.
2 · RAM and storage
8GB RAM and a 512GB SSD is the least I would buy in 2026. If you can find 16GB, take it, and the MSI Modern 14 gives you that for ₹42,990. Ask whether the RAM is upgradable, because some models solder it.
3 · Windows and Office
Read the operating system line. A listing that says DOS has no Windows. Office is a bonus, and your college may give it free.
4 · Weight and size
The 14 inch picks weigh 1.34 kg and 1.4 kg. The 15.6 inch picks weigh 1.62 kg and 1.65 kg. If you walk to class, the 14 inch ones are kinder to your back.
5 · Crossed out prices
Stores show large crossed out prices. Ignore them and check the real price and bank offer at checkout.
6 · Warranty and service
Most list one year. Keep the invoice, register the laptop on day one and find the nearest service centre for your city before you buy.
Other laptops I looked at
Celeron N4500 laptops (Acer Aspire One and Aspire 3). Cheap, but too slow for a degree.
Lenovo V15 G4 and HP 255 with Athlon chips. Weak processors for the money.
HP Professional 15 (Core 3 100U). The listing I saw ships with DOS and no Windows.
ASUS Vivobook Go 14 (₹48,990). It lists only 256GB of storage.
Primebook 2 Max (₹29,989). It runs Android based software, not Windows, so check your college software first.
MacBook Neo (₹71,890). Good, but far above this budget. See my laptops under 80000 guide.
The verdict
Which laptop should a student buy?
Best overall: MSI Modern 14, for 16GB at ₹42,990. Check price
Best warranty and 16GB: Acer TravelLite 2026, at ₹58,490. Check price
Best big screen: Acer Aspire Lite Metal, at ₹44,990. Check price
Best 16GB with Office: Acer TravelLite 14, at ₹49,400. Check price
Best Windows 11 Pro value: HP 15 2026, at ₹46,440. Check price
Best Dell service: Dell Pro 15, at ₹49,860. Check price
Best Lenovo with Office: IdeaPad Slim 3, at ₹49,990. Check price
Not sure? Buy the MSI Modern 14. If you can go past ₹50,000, buy the Acer TravelLite 2026 and enjoy 16GB and three years of warranty.
More buying guides from Geekman
Best laptops for video editing
Student laptop FAQ
Which is the best laptop for students in India under ₹50,000 in 2026?
The MSI Modern 14 with a Core i5-1235U and 16GB of RAM at ₹42,990 on Flipkart is my top pick. It has a 14 inch Full HD screen, a backlit keyboard and weighs 1.4 kg. If you can spend more, the Acer TravelLite with 16GB and a three year warranty costs ₹58,490.
Is 8GB RAM enough for a college student in 2026?
For browsing, documents, video calls and light coding, 8GB works if you keep tabs under control. Windows 11 itself needs 4GB at minimum. If you do design, programming with heavy tools or keep dozens of tabs open, 16GB is safer, and three laptops in this guide have it.
Can I upgrade the RAM on these laptops later?
It depends on the model. The Acer Aspire Lite Metal lists upgradable to 32GB, the HP 15 Windows listing says up to 32GB and Flipkart lists the Acer TravelLite Ryzen 5 as expandable to 32GB. The Lenovo IdeaPad Slim 3 lists 8GB soldered with a maximum of 8GB. For the Dell, the MSI and the TravelLite 14, the listings do not say.
What does DOS mean in a laptop listing?
It means the laptop comes without Windows. Some HP 15 listings say DOS and Windows not installed. You then have to buy and install Windows yourself. The HP I picked ships with Windows 11 Pro.
Is Microsoft Office included with these laptops?
Only some of them. The Lenovo IdeaPad Slim 3 lists Office Home 2024 and the Acer TravelLite 14 lists Office Home and Student 2021. The Acer Aspire Lite Metal lists no preinstalled software. Check the listing title for the word Office.
Which laptop has the longest warranty?
The Acer TravelLite 2026 with a Ryzen 5 7430U lists a 3 year warranty in its title. The MSI Modern 14 lists one year onsite. Most others list one year. Confirm on the seller page before you pay.
Are 15.6 inch laptops or 14 inch laptops better for college?
A 14 inch laptop is easier to carry. The MSI Modern 14 weighs 1.4 kg and the TravelLite 2026 weighs 1.34 kg. A 15.6 inch laptop gives more screen and often a number pad, but the ones here weigh 1.62 kg and 1.65 kg.
Are the HP 15 and Dell Pro 15 screens good?
Both list 250 nits and 45% NTSC, which means a dim screen with muted colours. It is fine indoors. For photo or video work, or for use outdoors, look for a brighter panel.
Why did you not pick a Celeron or Athlon laptop?
Celeron N4500 and Athlon 7120U laptops sell at ₹35,000 to ₹45,000 but are much slower than the Ryzen chips here. For a degree that lasts three or four years, I would not buy them.
Should I buy a Chromebook or an Android laptop for college?
Only if your coursework is all in the browser. They cost less, but you cannot install Windows software. Check your college software list first.
Do prices change a lot?
Yes. Several laptops that appeared in popular ₹50,000 lists a month ago now cost ₹63,000 to ₹68,000 or show as unavailable. Check the live price in the buy box before you decide.